Seitz Elementary School teacher receives 2022 Kansas Master Teacher Award

FORT RILEY, Kan. — Geary County Schools and Emporia State University Teacher College on Tuesday announced Bryan Scruggs, Seitz Elementary School academic specialist, as a recipient of the 2022 Kansas Master Teacher Award.

The Kansas Master Teacher Award was established by Emporia State in 1954 and is annually presented to selected teachers who serve as exemplary, professional educators, according to the university’s website.

Scruggs has dedicated his entire career thus far to Geary County Schools, joining Ware Elementary School in 2005 as a kindergarten teacher. This school year, Scruggs transitioned to an academic specialist position at Seitz Elementary School. Scruggs has also served as the 21st Century After School Program Site Coordinator for both Ware and Seitz, Kindergarten Steering Chair, Kindergarten Curriculum Taskforce member, Kansas State University Cooperating Teacher and has helped in the development of Kansas’ ASQ adoption.

Kansas Master Teacher Award recipient Bryan Scruggs.

“Bryan’s desire to be the best he can be for his students and teachers is apparent in everyone fortunate enough to meet him,” Seitz Elementary School Assistant Principal Veronica Wait said. “He lives and breathes education and is admired by many students, colleagues, and parents.”

Scruggs’ belief as an educator is that every moment we are constantly learning, and each new lesson is important. He focuses on this by using real-life examples of behaviors seen within his classroom to discuss problem-solving and resolution strategies. In addition, he believes it’s important to have a welcoming environment for the students to help further their achievements, whatever level that may be.

“Something that sets Bryan apart is his absolute love for his children,” Ware Elementary School Kindergarten Teacher Ally Bogen said. “His lessons are fun and engaging and his students hang on his every word. Bryan has the power to engage even the toughest students.”

Pictured (From Left): Superintendent Dr. Reginald Eggleston, Veronica Wait, Bryan Scruggs, Seitz Elementary School Principal Kathy Friesen, and Junction City Education Association President Dana Wiegand.

Most importantly, he finds it true that teaching must be a work of heart.

“Students are engaged, they are motivated, and the classroom becomes a joyous place where students don’t always realize what they are learning. When teachers find joy and excitement in what they do, it transfers directly to their students; creativity is sparked and innovations are developed,” Scruggs said. “When teachers are given the autonomy to develop this joy in their profession, true magic happens, and its impact lasts a lifetime.”

Scruggs will join the six additional award recipients at the 2022 Kansas Master Teacher Awards Program in April to be recognized.

For media inquiries, please contact Marketing and Media Specialist Lindley Lund at